Case Study: Crochet

A crochet blanket

The following case study derives from a project evaluation report undertaken for phase one of the Action Learning for Living (ALL) project.

“I could talk to other people, not about stress or anything like that but about normal stuff about the course and about crafts which helped me feel normal again”

“The reason why I joined this class was because I really wanted to learn to crochet, I had looked everywhere and nowhere in Nottingham was it offered. I was doing a cookery course at the time when the flyer came from the WEA through the post and I thought it was like a god send.  I have been out of work for about 2 years due to stress and being mentally unwell and this course was perfect for me as there was no pressure and the way the course was taught was excellent. The tutor has such a great way about her that she made everyone feel really comfortable straight away which was really good.

The course was held in Sherwood workshop which was great and couldn’t have asked for a better venue for sewing. We learned about so many different crafts and not just crochet which meant that I could learn a variety of things. It was all at beginner level which I liked and meant that I could work at my own pace and learn sewing which I hadn’t done before from the start. At the end of the course I got a certificate and I made two bags which look just like the handmade bags you would get at a high street shop.

I have met new people and I really enjoyed interacting with them on the course and most importantly the course was a good change of environment for me and which meant i was out of my usual home setting which can make my stress worse. Coming to the course meant that I could talk to other people, not about stress or anything like that but about normal stuff about the course and about crafts which helped me feel normal again. Sometimes, even though we would all work on our own projects, it was nice knowing that I have people around me who I can strike up a conversation with. I think the information about the course and tutor were excellent from beginning to end, and the support that was given was amazing. The WEA brochure provided great guidance and the tutor provided me feedback and support that I needed. I am now thinking of doing creative writing. I have always had an interest in poetry as well so I am quite excited about that. “

Leave a Reply

