Case Study: Sewing

The following case study derives from a project evaluation report undertaken for phase one of the Action Learning for Living (ALL) project.

“Being a full time carer of two children with disabilities is very stressful and this course really helped me to relax and feel good about myself”

I am a full time carer of two children with special needs and I had previously done a baking course with the WEA which I really enjoyed so thought I would do this sewing course as sewing always helps me to relax. I have done sewing before but I wanted to learn new things and get new ideas.

The course was delivered really well, the tutor was very patient and very knowledgeable she was able to adapt to the different levels and needs of the learners. At the start we were all asked what experience we have of sewing and what we wanted from the course and she adapted the sessions to that and that meant that the course was at the right level for me and it suited my needs

The tutor provided feedback to us on how we were doing and always had suggestions and ideas for doing something differently if it didn’t suit us. I really enjoyed taking part in the course and learning something new from the tutor but also from the other students in the class. Most of the students I had known from other courses so it was nice to just talk and share ideas and project work.

Being a full time carer of two children with disabilities is very stressful and this course really helped me to relax and feel good about myself. It meant that I could make little creative things which I gave as gifts to friends and family so I saved money and it made me feel good about myself and that I can do something for myself.

I am hoping to continue learning as I think it is a good destressor, I can’t continue this term but next term I shall enrol on a similar course.

Leave a Reply

